Welcome to Legal Help
Home Alaska DUI Laws DUI Penalties in Alaska

Free Help – Ask Your DUI Questions

legal dui questions

Choose a State

DUI Penalties in Alaska

First DUI offense: A first time DUI offense in Alaska is a misdemeanor and carries a minimum jail sentence of seventy-two hours. The maximum jail sentence can be up to one year. The jail sentence will usually depend on the charges surrounding your arrest. A first time offender will also have to pay $1,895 in fines: a minimum $1500 fine, a $270 incarceration fine and a $125 surcharge. Again, this is the minimum you can expect to pay; fines can increase depending on the nature of your arrest. Further, you license will be suspended for a minimum of ninety days. The court may decide to grant you a limited license to drive to and from work and alcohol evaluation classes only. It is up to the court’s discretion whether or not to give you a limited license. If you are granted a limited license, you will have to pay a $100 fee to the Alaska DMV for them to issue you the license. After your ninety-day license suspension you will need to apply for a new driver’s license with the DMV. Lastly, you will be required to attend a mandatory drug and alcohol evaluation program.

Second DUI offense: A second DUI offense is considered a Class A misdemeanor and carries stiffer penalties and fines. The minimum jail sentence is twenty days and the maximum jail sentence can be up to one year. A second offender will also have to pay a minimum $4,125 fine: a minimum $3000 fine, $1000 cost of incarceration fee and a $125 surcharge fee. Again these are minimum fines and your cost can be higher depending on the circumstances. Further, your driver’s license will be suspended for one year. If your second conviction took place within ten years of your first conviction, a limited license will likely not be granted. Lastly, you will be required to attend an alcohol evaluation and treatment program.

Third DUI offense: A third DUI conviction is classified as a Class C felony if it occurs within ten years of your second DUI conviction. If your third DUI occurred after ten years from your second conviction, it is considered a misdemeanor. The jail sentence for a Class C felony is a minimum of 120 days and a maximum of five years. The jail sentence for a third misdemeanor DUI offense is a minimum of sixty days and a maximum of one year. In addition, the minimum fines for a Class C felony is $10,000 plus a $200 surcharge. The minimum fines for a third misdemeanor DUI is $5,125: $4,000 minimum fine, $1000 cost of incarceration and a $125 surcharge. Further, a Class C felony DUI charge will result in a lifetime driver’s license revocation. A third DUI misdemeanor will result in a three-year driver’s license suspension.  You will also be required to attend an alcohol evaluation and treatment program. Lastly, a third DUI offense within ten years of your second offense will result in immediate vehicle forfeiture.

Fourth DUI offense: If you obtain a fourth DUI conviction within ten years of your third offense, it is a Class C felony. If the fourth DUI occurred more than ten years from your third offense, it is a misdemeanor. The jail sentence for a fourth Class C felony DUI is a minimum of 240 days in jail and a maximum of five years in jail. A fourth misdemeanor DUI conviction will result in a minimum of 120 days in jail and a maximum of one year in jail. The minimum fines for a fourth Class C felony DUI are $10,000 and a $200 surcharge. The minimum fines for a fourth misdemeanor DUI are $6,125: $5,000 minimum fine, $1,000 cost of incarceration and a $125 surcharge. Further a Class C felony DUI will result in your driver’s license being revoked for life. A fourth misdemeanor DUI will result in your license being suspended for five years. Also, a fourth DUI offense within ten years of your third offense will result in immediate vehicle forfeiture. Lastly, you will be required to attend an alcohol evaluation and treatment program.

Fifth DUI offense: A fifth DUI conviction within ten years of your previous offense is classified as a Class C felony. If the fifth DUI offense did not occur within ten years of your previous offense it is a misdemeanor. The jail sentence for a fifth Class C felony DUI is a minimum of 360 days in jail up to five years. A fifth misdemeanor DUI carries a minimum 240 day jail sentence and up to one year in jail. The minimum fines for a fifth Class C felony DUI are $10,000 plus a $200 surcharge. The minimum fines for a fifth misdemeanor DUI are $7,125: $6,000 minimum fine, $1,000 incarceration charge and a $125 surcharge. The driver’s license penalties for a fifth DUI are the same as those for a fourth DUI. Lastly, you will be required to attend an alcohol evaluation and treatment program.


If you have any questions about speeding tickets, please ask them at our legal help forum. free legal questions

Ask Questions, Get Answers

free legal help forum

Contact a DUI Lawyer Today!