Welcome to Legal Help
Home Alaska DUI Laws Summary of DUI Penalties in Alaska

Free Help – Ask Your DUI Questions

legal dui questions

Choose a State

Summary of DUI Penalties in Alaska

FIRST OFFENSE       

•          Class A misdemeanor
•          Minimum $1,500 fine
•          Minimum jail sentence of seventy-two consecutive hours
•          License revocation for ninety days
•          Ignition interlock device installation for twelve months
•          Drug and or alcohol evaluation required
•          Alcohol or drug treatment program possible
•          Purchasing alcohol may be prohibited
•          SR22 insurance required for five years

SECOND OFFENSE   

•          Class A misdemeanor
•          Minimum $3,000 fine
•          Minimum jail sentence of twenty days in jail.
•          License revocation for one year
•          Ignition interlock device installation for twenty-four months
•          Drug and or alcohol evaluation required
•          Alcohol or drug treatment program possible
•          Purchasing alcohol may be prohibited
•          SR22 insurance required for ten years

THIRD OFFENSE     

•          Misdemeanor of felony depending on when the prior conviction occurred. If this is your third DUI within ten years it is a felony.

Misdemeanor penalties:
•          Minimum fine of $4,000
•          Minimum jail sentence of sixty days
•          License revocation for three years
•          Ignition interlock device installation for thirty-six months Drug and or alcohol evaluation required
•          Alcohol or drug treatment program possible
•          Purchasing alcohol may be prohibited
•          SR22 insurance required for twenty years

Felony Penalties:

•          Minimum $10,000 fine
•          Minimum jail sentence of 120 days
•          License revocation is permanent. However you may apply for your license to be reinstated after ten years if some conditions are met.
•          Ignition interlock device installed for the entire time of your probation if your driving privileges are ever restored
•          Drug and or alcohol evaluation required
•          Alcohol or drug treatment program possible
•          Purchasing alcohol may be prohibited
•          SR22 insurance required for twenty years
•          Vehicle may be seized 

FOURTH OFFENSE  

•          Misdemeanor of felony depending on when the prior conviction occurred. If this is your fourth DUI within ten years it is a felony.

Misdemeanor penalties:

•          Minimum fine of $5,000
•          Minimum jail sentence of 120 days
•          License revocation for five years.
•          IID installation for the entire time of your probation if your driving privileges are ever restored.
•          Alcohol or drug treatment program possible
•          Purchasing alcohol may be prohibited
•          SR22 insurance required for life

Felony penalties:

•          Minimum fine of $10,000
•          Minimum jail sentence of 240 days
•          License revocation is permanent. However you may reapply for your license to be reinstated after ten years.
•          IID device installed for the entire time of your probation if driving privileges are ever restored.
•          Drug and or alcohol evaluation required
•          Alcohol or drug treatment program possible
•          Purchasing alcohol may be prohibited
•          SR22 insurance required for life
•          Vehicle may be seized

FIFTH OFFENSE

•          Misdemeanor or felony depending on whether the offense was within ten years from your prior offense.

Misdemeanor penalties:

•          Minimum $6,000 fine
•          Minimum jail sentence of 240 days.
•          License revocation for five years
•          IID installed for the entire time of probation
•          Drug and or alcohol evaluation required
•          Alcohol or drug treatment program possible
•          Purchasing alcohol may be prohibited
•          SR22 insurance required for life

Felony penalties:

•          Minimum $10,000 fine
•          Minimum jail sentence of 360 days
•          License revocation for life. However you may reapply for your license to be reinstated after ten years.
•          IID installation for the entire time of probation
•          Drug and or alcohol evaluation required
•          Alcohol or drug treatment program possible
•          Purchasing alcohol may be prohibited
•          SR22 insurance required for life
•          Vehicle may be seized

SIXTH OFFENSE      

•          Misdemeanor of felony depending on whether the conviction occurred within ten years of your prior conviction. If it was within ten years it is a felony. If not it is a misdemeanor offense.

Misdemeanor penalties:

•          Minimum fine of $7,000
•          Minimum jail sentence of 360 days
•          License revocation for five years
•          IID throughout the entire time of your probation
•          Drug and or alcohol evaluation required
•          Alcohol or drug treatment program possible
•          Purchasing alcohol may be prohibited
•          SR22 insurance required for life

Felony penalties:

•          Minimum $10,000 fine
•          Minimum jail sentence of 360 days
•          License revocation for life however you may reapply for your license to be   reinstated after ten years
•          IID throughout the entire time of your probation
•          Drug and or alcohol evaluation required
•          Alcohol or drug treatment program possible
•          Purchasing alcohol may be prohibited
•          SR22 insurance required for life
•          Vehicle may be seized


If you have any questions about speeding tickets, please ask them at our legal help forum. free legal questions

Ask Questions, Get Answers

free legal help forum

Contact a DUI Lawyer Today!