Welcome to Legal Help
Home Arizona DUI Laws DUI Penalties in Arizona

Free Help – Ask Your DUI Questions

legal dui questions

Choose a State

DUI Penalties in Arizona

For Misdemeanor DUI, a person shall be sentenced to 10 days in jail, however the court has the discretion to suspend 9 of the 10 days of the sentence if the person completes a court ordered alcohol or drug screening or educational treatment program.  The person is not eligible for probation until a jail sentence or an alcohol or drug treatment program has been completed.  In addition, the person is responsible to pay not less than $250, $500 to the prison construction and operations fund, and $500 to the public safety equipment fund.  The court may also order community restitution.  His driver’s license will be suspended for 90 days.  He is also required to have an ignition interlock device on their motor vehicle for 12 months.

For an Extreme DUI misdemeanor (a BAC ranging from .15-.19), a person found guilty will be sentenced to a minimum 30 consecutive days in jail.  Probation will be likely to follow after the entire sentence is completed.  The court may order community restitution.  The person will be required to pay two fines of $250, one fine of $1,000 to the prison construction and operations fund, and one fine of $1,250 for the public safety equipment fund.  The person shall pay all restitution, assessments, and incarceration costs.  His driver’s license will be suspended for 90 days.  After suspension, an ignition interlock device will be required on the person’s motor vehicle for 12 months.

For a Super Extreme DUI misdemeanor conviction ( a BAC .20 and above), a person will be sentenced to a minimum of 45 consecutive days in jail and the person will not be eligible for probation until the entire sentence is completed.  The individual shall pay a fine of $500, and one fine of $250 for the DUI abatement fund.  He must also pay a fine of $1,000 to the prison construction and operations fund a fine of $1,250 for the public safety equipment fund.  The person must also pay for all restitution, assessments, and incarceration costs.  He may be ordered by court to perform community restitution.  His driver’s license will be suspended for 90 days.  An ignition interlock device will be required on the person’s motor vehicle for 12 months after suspension of license is completed.

Felony/Aggregated DUI that was committed the DUI while they are driving under a suspended/revoked/or canceled license or their driving was restricted as a result or a prior DUI: 

A person will face a prison sentence for a period of not more than four mounts and a total period of not more than one year.  Their driver’s license shall be revoked for three years and after the three years have been completed, an ignition interlock device will be required for their motor vehicle.  In addition, the following fees must be paid: a fee of $250 to the DUI abatement fund, a fine of not less than $750, a fine of $1,500 to the construction and operations fund and an additional assessment of $1,500 to the safety equipment fund.

Felony/ Aggregated DUI – third DUI arrest within an a 7 year time period in the state of Arizona:

A Person found guilty will have a prison sentence of not more than eight months and a total period of not more than one year.  Their driver’s license shall be revoked for three years and within three years after completion, an ignition interlock device will be required for their motor vehicle.  In addition, the following fees must be paid: a fee of $250 to the DUI abatement fund, a fine of not less than $750, a fine of $1,500 to the construction and operations fund and an additional assessment of $1,500 to the safety equipment fund.

Felony/ Aggravated DUI with passenger under 15 years of age in vehicle: 

A person convicted person shall be sentenced to 10 days in jail, however the court has the discretion to suspend 9 of the 10 days of the sentence if the person completes a court ordered alcohol or drug screening or educational treatment program.  A person’s driver’s license shall be revoked for three years and within three years after completion, an ignition interlock device will be required for their motor vehicle.  In addition, the following fees must be paid: a fee of $250 to the DUI abatement fund, a fine of not less than $750, a fine of $1,500 to the construction and operations fund and an additional assessment of $1,500 to the safety equipment fund.


If you have any questions about speeding tickets, please ask them at our legal help forum. free legal questions

Ask Questions, Get Answers

free legal help forum

Contact a DUI Lawyer Today!