Welcome to Legal Help
Home Colorado DUI Laws Ignition Interlock Devices in Colorado

Free Help – Ask Your DUI Questions

legal dui questions

Choose a State

Ignition Interlock Devices in Colorado

Ignition interlock devices are installed and attached to the ignition system of a vehicle to prevent individuals from operating a motor vehicle while under the influence. It accomplishes this by periodically requiring breath samples and disabling the vehicle if a BAC above 0.02 is detected. The results of each sample are stored within the device and “transmitted to the proper authorities.”

If an individual is required to have an ignition interlock device installed they must pay all of the associated costs. The devices average cost of installation  is around $150 and the monthly rental free average around $90.

In Colorado an individual will be required to have an ignition interlock device for:

  • 8 months upon the 1st DUI conviction
  • 2 years upon the 1st DUI conviction with a BAC of at least 0.17
  • 2 years upon all subsequent DUI convictions
  • 1 year for the second refusal to submit to chemical testing
  • 2 years for each subsequent refusal to submit to chemical testing.

If you have any questions about speeding tickets, please ask them at our legal help forum. free legal questions

Ask Questions, Get Answers

free legal help forum

Contact a DUI Lawyer Today!