Welcome to Legal Help
Home Connecticut DUI Laws DUI Penalties in Connecticut

Free Help – Ask Your DUI Questions

legal dui questions

Choose a State

DUI Penalties in Connecticut

The penalty for the first DUI conviction is a fine of at least $500 and not more than $1,000.  The driver is given a prison sentence of up to six months.  The judge may require that the driver complete 100 hours of community service in return for a suspended prison sentence and probation.  Attendance at a victim impact panel may be a condition of probation.  If community service is not permitted, the driver must spend at least 48 consecutive hours in prison.  The driver may be required to attend an alcohol education and treatment program.  Finally, the driver’s license is suspended for one year.  These penalties may be enforced against drivers of both private and commercial vehicles.

If a driver causes serious physical injury to another while under the influence of alcohol or drugs, he has committed “Assault in the Second Degree with a Motor Vehicle”, which is a Class D felony.  The driver is sentenced to a period of one to five years in prison and a fine of up to $5,000. The driver license is suspended for one year and the offender must drive a vehicle with an ignition interlock device installed for two years following the end of the suspension.

If a driver is under the influence of alcohol or drugs and kills another, he has committed “Manslaughter in the Second Degree with a Motor Vehicle”, which is a Class C felony.  This offense is punishable by one to ten years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000.  Upon conviction, the driver license is suspended for one year and an ignition interlock device installed in the driver’s vehicle for a period of two years following the end of the suspension.  If the driver subsequently attempts to bypass or tamper with the interlock device, he is guilty of a class C misdemeanor which carries a fine of up to $500, a prison term not to exceed 3 months, and a one year license suspension.

In addition to the above penalties, the operator’s motor vehicle will be impounded for 48 hours. The operator may reclaim the car after paying all storage and towing costs.

Finally, the Department of Motor Vehicles is able to suspend the driver’s license following any arrest for driving under the influence.


If you have any questions about speeding tickets, please ask them at our legal help forum. free legal questions

Ask Questions, Get Answers

free legal help forum

Contact a DUI Lawyer Today!