Welcome to Legal Help
Home Hawaii DUI (OVII) Laws Penalties for DUI (OVII) in Hawaii

Free Help – Ask Your DUI Questions

legal dui questions

Choose a State

Penalties for DUI (OVII) in Hawaii

A person’s first offense of an OVII will be charged with:

  • 14 hour minimum substance abuse rehabilitation program
  •  One-year revocation of license and privilege to operate a vehicle and installation of an ignition interlock device
  • Either:
    •  72 hours of community service OR
    • 48 hours -5 days of imprisonment OR
    •  fine between $150 and $1,000
  • Surcharge of $25 to the neurotrauma special fund
  • If the court orders,  up to $25 surcharge to be deposited into the trauma system special fund.

2nd  OVII charge in 5 years of a prior conviction:

  • Revocation of license and privilege to operate a vehicle for a period between 18 months and 2 years with an installation of an ignition interlock device
  • Either:
    •  At least 240 hours of community service OR
    • Between 5 -30 days of imprisonment of which at least forty-eight hours served consecutively OR
    • Fine between $500-$1500
  • Surcharge of $25 to be deposited in the neurotrauma special fund
  • If the court orders, up to $50 surcharge to a trauma system special fund.

3rd offense within five years of 2 prior convictions of an OVII:

  • Fine between $500-$2500
  • Revocation for 2 years of license and privilege to operate a vehicle during the revocation period and installation of an ignition interlock device on vehicles operated by the offender
  • Imprisonment between 10-30 days of which at least forty-eight hours will be served consecutively
  •  Surcharge of $25 to be deposited into the neurotrauma special fund
  • Surcharge of up to $50, if the court orders, to be deposited into the trauma system special fund.

Habitual operator of a vehicle while under an intoxicant, (4th Charge of OVII in 10 years)

  • Either:
    • Unknown term of imprisonment up to 5 years OR
    • probation of five years that includes:
      • Mandatory revocation of license and privilege to operate a vehicle for a period between 1 and 5 years
      •  Imprisonment between 2-10 days with at least forty-eight hours served consecutively
      • Referral to a certified substance abuse counselor
      • Surcharge of $25 to be deposited into the neurotrauma special fund
      • Surcharge of up to $50 to be deposited into the trauma system special fund.

If you have any questions about speeding tickets, please ask them at our legal help forum. free legal questions

Ask Questions, Get Answers

free legal help forum

Contact a DUI Lawyer Today!