Welcome to Legal Help
Home Illinois DUI Laws Penalties for DUI in Illinois

Free Help – Ask Your DUI Questions

legal dui questions

Choose a State

Penalties for DUI in Illinois

Illinois state law assigns varying levels of penalties for DUIs.

For a first time DUI violation, the punishment will result in a Class A misdemeanor including a license suspension for a minimum of 1 year and possible imprisonment of up to one (1) year and fines of up to $2500.

For a second DUI violation, the violator will serve a mandatory minimum jail term of five (5) days or 240 hours of community service, license suspension for minimum of five (5) years if second conviction is in a 20 year period and suspension of vehicle registration.

For three (3) or more violations, Illinois state law considers the DUI charge to be aggravated which means the associated felony charges will not be subject to suspension or reduction. If the violator is sentenced to probation or conditional discharge, the violator must serve a mandatory minimum of 480 hours of community service or ten (10) days in jail.

A third DUI violation will increase the penalty from a misdemeanor to a Class 2 felony which also includes license suspension for a minimum of 10 years and suspension of vehicle registration and possible jail term of 3-7 years and fines up to $25,000.

If a fourth violation occurs, the penalty will be prohibit a sentence of probation or conditional release. The violator’s license will be suspended for life. The violator’s vehicle registration will also be suspended.

A fifth violation becomes a Class 1 felony and includes suspension of the violator’s license for life and suspension of vehicle registration and possible imprisonment of 4-15 years and fines of up to $25,000.

If convicted a sixth time for DUI, the penalty is increased to a Class X felony which includes licenses suspension for life and vehicle registration suspension and possible jail term of 6-30 years and fines of up to $25,000

If guilty of a DUI violation, the violator is subject to additional administrative sanctions and include (a) being required to undergo a professional evaluation to determine if alcohol or drug treatment is appropriate; (b) A violator may be required to attend a victim impact panel; (c) if a violation of 11-501 resulted in an accident which required emergency service, violator is required to pay for such service; (d) A violator’s license will be revoked; (e) if found guilty of a second violation of 11-501, violator is required to use ignition interlock devices on all owned vehicles; (f) if guilty, required to pay up to $3500 in administrative fees.


If you have any questions about speeding tickets, please ask them at our legal help forum. free legal questions

Ask Questions, Get Answers

free legal help forum

Contact a DUI Lawyer Today!