Welcome to Legal Help
Home Illinois DUI Laws Underage DUI in Illinois

Free Help – Ask Your DUI Questions

legal dui questions

Choose a State

Underage DUI in Illinois

If a person is under the age of 21, then a person may be convicted of a DUI regardless of BAC level. The first offense includes a license suspension of a minimum of two years compared with a one year license suspension if over 21 years of age, possible prison term of up to a year and a possible maximum fine of $2500. A second conviction requires a license suspension of a minimum 5 years, if the second conviction is within a 20 year period, a mandatory minimum of five days in jail or 240 hours of community service.  A third conviction requires a minimum 10 year license suspension and a mandatory prison term of 18-30 months. An aggravated DUI exists if the violation results in a motor vehicle crash ending in great bodily harm or permanent disfigurement and is elevated to a class 4 felony. The conviction includes a minimum license suspension of 1 year, possible prison term for up to 12 years and a fine to not exceed $25,000. Unlike the class 4 felony conviction for adults, for those under 21 this conviction does not carry with it a mandatory prison term or community service hours.


If you have any questions about speeding tickets, please ask them at our legal help forum. free legal questions

Ask Questions, Get Answers

free legal help forum

Contact a DUI Lawyer Today!