Welcome to Legal Help
Home Louisiana DUI Laws Enhanced Penalty Blood-Alcohol Concentration in Louisiana

Free Help – Ask Your DUI Questions

legal dui questions

Choose a State

Enhanced Penalty Blood-Alcohol Concentration in Louisiana

There are enhanced penalties for all individuals who are caught operating a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol content above a certain percentage. The specific blood alcohol content may vary by state, but in general the penalties for a drunk driving charge are enhanced when the DUI suspect has a blood alcohol content greater than 0.15 percent, but there are states where the percentage is slightly higher. DUI offenders with a blood alcohol content at or above their state’s enhanced penalty standards can face additional punishments, such as, but not limited to, jail time, harsher fines, and more severe driver’s license sanctions.

In Louisiana, the punishment will be increased if the offender’s BAC is at least 0.15%. An even more severe punishment is imposed if the offender’s BAC is higher than 0.20%. For example, if it is the offender’s first offense, and his/her BAC is between 0.15% and 0.199%, then the offender will not be granted parole, probation, or suspension of the sentence. If the offender’s BAC is greater than or equal to 0.20%, then he/she will be fined $1,000 and serve at least 96 hours in prison without the possibility of parole, probation, or suspension of sentence. Additionally, a first-time underage offender who drives with a BAC of .08 or greater will receive a 180-day driver’s license suspension


If you have any questions about speeding tickets, please ask them at our legal help forum. free legal questions

Ask Questions, Get Answers

free legal help forum

Contact a DUI Lawyer Today!