Welcome to Legal Help
Home Louisiana DUI Laws Implied Consent Law in Louisiana

Free Help – Ask Your DUI Questions

legal dui questions

Choose a State

Implied Consent Law in Louisiana

Under the U.S. Constitution and state constitutions, a person does have the right to refuse to provide evidence against themselves by chemical testing. However any person who refuses to take the legally required tests may be subjected to a loss of driving privileges and other penalties.

In Louisiana, the implied consent law deems that all drivers in Louisiana agree to submit to a chemical test of blood, health, or urine, if a police officer has reasonable cause to believe you are under the influence of alcohol or drugs. If a driver refuses to submit to such a test, the driver’s license will be suspended for 180 days for the first refusal. If the driver refuses a second time, his/her license will be suspended for 545 days. If the driver submits to the test and is found legally intoxicated, his/her license will be suspended. A third refusal offense is punishable with the same penalties as a first-offense DWI - up to six months in jail, a $1,000 fine, and a 90-day driver’s license suspension.

Under Louisiana law, first and second time offenders who refuse to take a chemical test could also be required to install an ignition interlock system. They will also be required to pay for the costs related to installing and maintaining the system.


If you have any questions about speeding tickets, please ask them at our legal help forum. free legal questions

Ask Questions, Get Answers

free legal help forum

Contact a DUI Lawyer Today!