Welcome to Legal Help
Home Louisiana DUI Laws Penalties for DUI in Louisiana

Free Help – Ask Your DUI Questions

legal dui questions

Choose a State

Penalties for DUI in Louisiana

After the first conviction, the offender will be fined no less than $300 and no more than $1000 unless the offender is placed on probation after serving two days in jail and participates in a substance abuse program and driver improvement program. Instead of a fine, the offender may also be placed on probation and performs four, eight hour days of community service and a driver improvement program.

After the second offense, regardless of whether it occurs before or after the first conviction, the offender will be fined not less than $750, nor more than $1000, and shall be imprisoned for not less than thirty days nor more than six months unless the offender is placed on probation with a minimum condition that he/she serve fifteen days in jail and participate in a substance abuse program and participate in a driver improvement program. The offender may also, in place of fine and imprisonment, can be placed on probation with a minimum condition that he perform thirty eight-hour days of court-approved community service activities, at least half of which shall consist of participation in a litter abatement or collection program, and participate in a court-approved substance abuse program, and participate in a court-approved driver improvement program.

Upon conviction of the third offense, the offender shall be imprisoned with or without hard labor for not less than one year nor more than five years and shall be fined two thousand dollars. Furthermore, the offender will not be allowed probation, parole, or a suspension of sentence for one year and there will be a mandatory seizure and sale of the vehicle.. After the fourth and subsequent offense, the offender will be imprisoned for not less than 10 years and is parole/probation is prohibited for the first two years. The offender’s driver’s license will also be suspended for two years and there will be a mandatory seizure and sale of the vehicle.


If you have any questions about speeding tickets, please ask them at our legal help forum. free legal questions

Ask Questions, Get Answers

free legal help forum

Contact a DUI Lawyer Today!