Welcome to Legal Help
Home Louisiana DUI Laws Underage DUI in Louisiana

Free Help – Ask Your DUI Questions

legal dui questions

Choose a State

Underage DUI in Louisiana

As RS 14:98.1 explains, any underage driver with a BAC greater than 0.02% by weight will be arrested for underage driving while intoxicated. After the first conviction, the offender shall be fined not less than $100 and no more than $250 and participate in a substance abuse and driver improvement program. If a person under 21 drives with a BAC of .08 or greater, the offender may be charged and penalized as an adult. A first-time underage offender who drives with a BAC of .08 or greater will receive a 180-day driver’s license suspension.

On the second and any subsequent conviction, the offender will be fined not less than $150 and no more than $500 and imprisoned for not less than ten days and no more than three months. Imposition or execution of the sentence will not be suspended unless one of a few options occurs. First, if the offender is placed on probation with a minimum condition that the offender serve 48 hours in jail and participate in a substance abuse and driver improvement program, then the sentence can be suspended. Additionally, if the offender is placed on probation with a minimum condition that the offender perform ten eight-hour days of community service and participate in a substance abuse and driver improvement program, then the sentence may also be suspended.


If you have any questions about speeding tickets, please ask them at our legal help forum. free legal questions

Ask Questions, Get Answers

free legal help forum

Contact a DUI Lawyer Today!