Massachusetts DUI Laws
Massachusetts DUI law is governed by Title XIV, Chapter 90, Section 24. There is also Melanie’s Law, a summary of which is available here, which has created more severe punishments for certain infractions. The first thing to understand about DUI law is that it can be challenging to master. The process itself includes many branches of the state government. This is one reason most attorneys that deal with DUI law specialize in it, and if you have been charged with DUI, it is recommended you speak to an attorney who practices in the area. The severity of the punishment, should you be convicted, is enough that the $3000 – $6000 most attorneys charge to defend a DUI claim is, relatively speaking, a small price to pay.
If you have any questions about speeding tickets, please ask them at our legal help forum.