Welcome to Legal Help
Home Missouri DWI Laws DUI (DWI) Penalties in Missouri

Free Help – Ask Your DUI Questions

legal dui questions

Choose a State

DUI (DWI) Penalties in Missouri

The possible penalties for convictions under Missouri law are as follows:

For a first conviction of DWI/BAC, a Class B Misdemeanor the penalties may include:

  • 8 points on driving record (mandatory)
  • Fine not to exceed $500
  • Jail
  • Up to 2 years probation
  • 30 day driver’s license suspension, followed by 60 days restricted license
  • Interlock ignition device
  • Court-ordered Substance Abuse Traffic Offender Program

For a second conviction of Second conviction of DWI/BAC, a Class A Misdemeanor, a person will be labeled a “Prior Offender,” and the penalties may include:

  • 12 points on driving record (mandatory)
  • Fine not to exceed $1,0000
  • Jail
  • Up to 2 years probation
  • 1 year license suspension (5 year suspension if second conviction within five years)
  • Interlock ignition device
  • Court-ordered Substance Abuse Traffic Offender Program

For a third, it will be a Class D felony; a person will be labeled as a “Persistent Offender.  Possible penalties will include:

  • 12 points on driving record (mandatory)
  • Fine not to exceed $5,0000
  • Jail
  • Up to 2 years probation
  • 10 year license suspension
  • Interlock ignition device
  • Court-ordered Substance Abuse Traffic Offender Program

A fourth DWI and BAC conviction will be considered as class C felony and people will be labeled as “Aggravated offender.”  Penalties could include:

  • 12 points on driving record (mandatory)
  • Fine not to exceed $5,0000
  • Jail up to seven years
  • Up to 2 years probation
  • 10 year license suspension
  • Interlock ignition device
  • Court-ordered Substance Abuse Traffic Offender Program

A fifth and all subsequent DWI and BAC conviction will be considered as class B felony and people will be labeled as “Chronic offender.”  Penalties could include:

  • 12 points on driving record (mandatory)
  • Fine not to exceed $7,0000
  • Jail term of 5-15 years
  • Probation after jail term
  • 10 year license suspension
  • Interlock ignition device
  • Court-ordered Substance Abuse Traffic Offender Program

If you have any questions about speeding tickets, please ask them at our legal help forum. free legal questions

Ask Questions, Get Answers

free legal help forum

Contact a DUI Lawyer Today!