Welcome to Legal Help
Home Nebraska DUI Laws DUI Penalties in Nebraska

Free Help – Ask Your DUI Questions

legal dui questions

Choose a State

DUI Penalties in Nebraska

A first DUI offense in Nebraska is punishable by a maximum term of 60 days in prison and a maximum fine of $500. There is a mandatory minimum sentence of 7 days in prison and a minimum fine of $400. A first DUI offense in Nebraska is a Class W misdemeanor. Someone who is found guilty for a first-time DUI will also have their drivers license suspended for 6 months and may have to attend some form of alcohol treatment. A second DUI in Nebraska carries with it a maximum punishment of 90 days imprisonment and a maximum fine of $500. The minimum term of imprisonment for a second DUI in Nebraska is 30 days. The minimum fine is $500. A driver convicted for a second offense will have their license suspended for 1 year and is required to install an ignition interlock system for their car. A second DUI is a Class W misdemeanor.

A third DUI offense in Nebraska that occurs within 12 years of the second offense is a Class W misdemeanor. The punishments for a third offense are 90 days to 1 year in jail, a $600 fine, suspension for the drivers license for a year, and possibly a 15 year revocation of the offender’s drivers license. A fourth DUI offense that occurs within 12 years of the second offense is a Class IV felony. The punishments for a fourth offense are 10 days to 5 years in jail, up to $10,000 in fines, suspension of the drivers license for 1 year, and possibly a 15 year revocation of the offender’s drivers license. In addition, the court may require alcohol treatment at the defendant’s cost.


If you have any questions about speeding tickets, please ask them at our legal help forum. free legal questions

Ask Questions, Get Answers

free legal help forum

Contact a DUI Lawyer Today!