Prescription Drugs and DUI in Nevada
Driving under the influence of drugs is usually presumed to be illegal controlled substances such as marijuana or cocaine; however, it can also apply to prescription and over-the-counter medications. Prescription medications such as sleeping pills, or even cold and allergy medications can affect one’s driving ability. Usually an individual who is prescribed a sedative will be told not to drive or operate heavy machinery after taking the medication. NRS 484C.110, states that “the fact that any person charged with a violation of this subsection is or has been entitled to use that drug under the laws of this state is not a defense against any charge of violating this subsection.” Thus, just because a driver was impaired using a legal drug, he can still be prosecuted with a DUI.
Unlike alcohol or other illegal drugs, there is no minimum or maximum threshold of prescription drug use one must consume in order to be convicted of a DUI. This means that you can be convicted of a DUI for having even the slightest amount of prescription drugs in your system. Most individuals are arrested for a prescription DUI because he/she admits to the police officer that prescription drugs have been taken. A police officer might also notice medication bottles inside the vehicle and use that as evidence as well. Again, given Nevada’s implied consent law, a motorist must submit to a chemical test to determine whether they are under the influence of alcohol or a controlled substance and a police officer may use reasonable force to obtain this evidence.
According to NRS 484C.400, a first time offense for DUI for prescription drugs is often a misdemeanor and may include penalties such as: fines from $400-$1000, two to six months in jail, license suspension for ninety days, ninety-six hours of community service, and DUI program or treatment. Repeat offenders face enhanced penalties.
If you have any questions about speeding tickets, please ask them at our legal help forum.