Welcome to Legal Help

Free Help – Ask Your DUI Questions

legal dui questions

Choose a State

DUI Penalties in New Jersey

FIRST OFFENSE

  • Fine of $250-$400. If your BAC was 0.10% or greater a fine of $300-$500.
  • Jail sentence of up to thirty days
  • License suspension for three months. If your BAC was 0.10% or greater, your license will be suspended for seven months to one year.
  • IID installation for six months to one year once your license is reinstated.
  • You must go to the intoxicated driver resource center
  • SR22 insurance requirement

SECOND OFFENSE (within ten years)

  • $1,000 fine
  • Jail sentence of 180 days
  • License suspension for ten years
  • IID installation for one to three years once your license is reinstated,
  • SR22 insurance requirement

THIRD AND SUBSEQUENT OFFENSES (within ten years)

  • Fine of $1,000
  • Jail sentence of 180 days
  • License suspension for ten years
  • IID installation required for one to three years once your license is reinstated.
  • SR22 insurance requirement

OTHER PENALTIES ASSOCIATED WITH ALL DUI CONVICTIONS

  • $100 surcharge to the drunk driving enforcement fund
  • $75 fee for the Safe& secure community program
  • $50 fee for Violent Crimes Compensation
  • $100 fee for the intoxicated driver program
  • $100 fee for the Motor Vehicle restoration

First DUI offense: Under New Jersey law, if you are convicted of a DUI and have a BAC of 0.08% or higher, but less than 0.10%, or if you permit another person with a BAC of 0.08%, but less than 0.10% to operate a vehicle, then you will face fines of $250-$400. You can be imprisoned for up to thirty days. Your license will be suspended for three months. You must spend a minimum of six hours a day for two consecutive days in an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center. And an automobile insurance surcharge of $1,000 a year for three years will be added.

  • If your BAC was 0.10% or higher, or if you were under the influence of a narcotic, hallucinogenic or habit-producing drug, you must pay a fine of $300-500. You face imprisonment of up to thirty days. Your license will be suspended for seven months to one year. You must spend a minimum of six hours a day for two consecutive days in an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center, and an insurance surcharge of $1,000 a year for three years will be added.
  • If you had a BAC of 0.15% or higher, you must install an ignition interlock device in any vehicle that you operate during your incense suspension period for a period of six months to one year after your license is restored.

Second DUI offense:  Your second DUI offense will cost you fines of $500-$1,000. You face imprisonment for at least forty-eight hours, and up to ninety days. Your license will be suspended for 2 years. You must serve forty-eight consecutive hours in an Intoxicated Driver Resource center. An automobile surcharge of $1,000 for three years will be added. And you must install an ignition interlock device for one year to three years after your license is restored.

Third DUI offense: You must pay a fine of $1,000. You face imprisonment of 180 days. Your license will be suspended for ten years. You will also be detained in an in-patient alcoholism treatment program. You will also have to pay a fee to the Intoxicated Driver resource center, depending on your court sentence. An automobile insurance surcharge of $1,500 a year for three years will be added. And you must install an ignition interlock device for one year to three years after your license is restored.


If you have any questions about speeding tickets, please ask them at our legal help forum. free legal questions

Ask Questions, Get Answers

free legal help forum

Contact a DUI Lawyer Today!