Welcome to Legal Help
Home New York DUI (DWI) Laws Commercial Drivers License and DUI (DWI) in New York

Free Help – Ask Your DUI Questions

legal dui questions

Choose a State

Commercial Drivers License and DUI (DWI) in New York

In the state of New York it is illegal for a person to drive a commercial vehicle with .04 or more of BAC in their body. If convicted of driving while intoxicated with a BAC of more than .04 in a commercial vehicle, you will face harsh penalties. Along with the points added to your driving record, you will face a minimum 1-year suspension from driving commercial vehicles. The penalties are enhanced if one is caught transporting hazardous materials in a commercial vehicle with more than a .04 BAC. If convicted, your commercial vehicle license will be barred for a minimum of three years.

If one commits any of the aforementioned offenses for a second time, a lifetime ban on driving a commercial vehicle is imposed. However, it is possible to receive a waiver after ten years time. If you resist as chemical test as a commercial vehicle driver, you license will be suspended for a minimum of 1-year. Along with the previous penalties, all other DUI penalties for persons over the age of 21, for first and second offenses, can also be imposed. Since there is a lifetime ban after the second offense, commercial vehicle DUI differs from regular DUI, which has penalties after the second offense – all of which do not apply to commercial vehicle DUI.


If you have any questions about speeding tickets, please ask them at our legal help forum. free legal questions

Ask Questions, Get Answers

free legal help forum

Contact a DUI Lawyer Today!