Sentence Enhancements for DUI in Oregon
There are several circumstances in Oregon that may lead to sentence enhancements. They include prior DUII convictions that occurred in Oregon or another jurisdiction, speeding, reckless driving, and causing an accident with injuries or property damage. The purpose of sentence enhancements is to allow for harsher punishments and fines to situations where the law has been broken repeatedly or in an egregious manner.
For example, in Oregon, a court may impose a maximum fine of $10,000 when a driver drives under the influence of intoxicants while there was a passenger under the age of 18 in the car and who was at least three years younger than the driver. Additionally, the fines and penalties for DUII increase with each subsequent offense. Driving under the influence of intoxicants is a Class A misdemeanor and applies on any premises open to the public. A Class A misdemeanor has a maximum term of one year in jail. Upon conviction, a person will be required to pay fees and fines to the court, serve at least 48 hours’ imprisonment or perform community service, and possibly attend a victim impact program. For a person’s first DUII conviction, the court will impose a minimum fine of $1,000. For a second conviction, there will be a minimum fine of $1,500. A third or subsequent conviction carries with it a minimum fine of $2000 if the person is not sentenced to a minimum term of imprisonment.
Driving under the influence of intoxicants in Oregon is a Class C felony if the person has, at least three times in the 10 years prior to the date of the current offense, been convicted of or in the jurisdiction of the juvenile court for driving under the influence of intoxicants in Oregon or another jurisdiction. The DUII would apply to any combination of these offenses and applies to people that were operating a boat, aircraft, or vehicle. A Class C felony has a maximum prison term of 5 years.
If you have any questions about speeding tickets, please ask them at our legal help forum.