Welcome to Legal Help
Home Rhode Island DUI Laws Commercial Drivers License and DUI in Rhode Island

Free Help – Ask Your DUI Questions

legal dui questions

Choose a State

Commercial Drivers License and DUI in Rhode Island

In comparison to regular DUI violations, violations involving commercial motor vehicles receive harsher punishments. When an individual is driving, operating, or exercising physical control of a commercial motor vehicle with BAC of 0.04% or greater, shown by chemical tests, or have the presence of drugs in his or her blood, will be guilty of DUI. The punishments for DUI violations for commercial motor vehicles drivers are separated into two categories based on the number of violations. If the individual is found to have committed a first violation for driving a commercial motor vehicle under the influence of alcohol or drugs, with BAC of 0.04% or greater, leaving the scene of an accident, using the vehicle in the commission of a felony, and refusing to submit to a chemical test (breath, blood, or urine sample) while operating a commercial vehicle, his license will be suspended for at least 1 year. However, if the driver commits any of the violated stated above while carrying hazardous materials requiring placards under federal/state regulations, the license will be revoked for at least 3 years.

If the driver committed a DUI offense for the second time, then his license will be revoked for a minimum of 10 years to life, when he or she drives the vehicle under the influence of alcohol or drugs with BAC of 0.04%, leaves the scene of an accident involving his or her vehicle, uses the vehicle in the commission of a felony, and refuses to submit to a chemical analysis (breath, blood, and/or urine sample). However, a driver’s license will be revoked for life if the commercial motor vehicle was used to manufacture, distribute, or dispense drugs or possess drugs with the intention to distribute, manufacture, or dispense them. Furthermore, if the driver of a commercial motor vehicle violated 2 serious traffic violations within a 3 year period involving the vehicle, then his or her license or privilege to drive will be suspended for at least 60 days. If the driver violated 3 or more serious traffic violations within a 3 year period, then his or her license or privilege to drive will be suspended for at least 120 days. A driver of a commercial motor vehicle convicted of DUI will still be punished under the normal DUI laws, except the provisions related to the suspension or revocation of license.


If you have any questions about speeding tickets, please ask them at our legal help forum. free legal questions

Ask Questions, Get Answers

free legal help forum

Contact a DUI Lawyer Today!