Welcome to Legal Help
Home Rhode Island DUI Laws Sentence Enhancements for DUI in Rhode Island

Free Help – Ask Your DUI Questions

legal dui questions

Choose a State

Sentence Enhancements for DUI in Rhode Island

When the individual is operating a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs and his or her license was suspended, revoked, or cancelled for a DUI violation, he or she will be guilty of a felony. The person will be fined of not more than $3,000, may be imprisoned for a maximum of 3 years, and will receive alcohol and/or drug treatment. However, such penalties and punishments would not apply if the individual had surrendered his or her license and served the court ordered suspension, but, for some reason, has not had the license reinstated after the period of suspension, revocation, or suspension has expired.

Furthermore, if a person over 18 years old is convicted of DUI while a child under 13 years old is present in the vehicle as a passenger, then the driver may be imprisoned of a maximum of 1 year, which may be served in any adult correctional institutions based on the judge’s discretion with no benefit of suspension or deferment of the sentence.

In terms of additional fines, any person convicted of a DUI violation must pay a highway assessment fine of $500, which will be transferred to the general fund, and there will also be an additional fee of $86. Also, when attending a special course on DUI shall be administered with a college or university accredited by the state will include a reasonable tuition for not less than $25 and a fee of $175, which will be transferred to the general fund.


If you have any questions about speeding tickets, please ask them at our legal help forum. free legal questions

Ask Questions, Get Answers

free legal help forum

Contact a DUI Lawyer Today!