Vermont DUI Laws
In Vermont a person is forbidden from operating or being in control of any vehicle when their alcohol concentration is 0.08 or more, when the person is under the influence of intoxicating liquor or any other drug which renders the person incapable of driving safely.
This alcohol concentration limit fluctuates depending on age, thus if the operator of the vehicle is not of the legal drinking age the alcohol concentration of the driver must not exceed 0.02. The alcohol concentration limit is also different for operators of commercial vehicles, if it is a commercial vehicle then the limit is 0.04, however, a school bus operator’s limit must not exceed 0.02.
Upon your first conviction the person’s operating license will be immediately suspended for a period of 90 days. However, the operating license will not be reinstated until the operator has successfully completed an alcohol and driving education program and needed therapy if necessary based on screening. A person in violation of this VT law may NOT be fined more than $750.00 or imprisoned for a period of more than two years.
Upon a second offense the motorist’s license is suspended for 18 months and he or she must also perform 200 hours of community service or 60 consecutive hours of the sentence of imprisonment ball be served and may not be suspended or deferred. Also, upon a third or subsequent offense the operator’s license is permanently suspended and they must perform at least 400 hours of community service or 100 consecutive hours of the sentence of imprisonment shall be served and may not be suspended or deferred.
If a death results from the violation of the law the person in violation may not be fined more than $10,000.00 or imprisoned for less than 1 year or more than 15 years. If the violation results in more than one death, the operator may be charged with a separate violation. If serious bodily injury results the operator of the vehicle may not be fined more than $5,000.00 or imprisoned for longer than 15 years. Also, if there is serious bodily injury to two or more persons the operator may be convicted of a separate offense.
This is a misdemeanor offense, however, if death or serious bodily injury result the vehicle operator may be charged of a separate offense that may potentially be a felony.
If you have any questions about speeding tickets, please ask them at our legal help forum.