Welcome to Legal Help
Home Vermont DUI Laws Penalties for DUI in Vermont

Free Help – Ask Your DUI Questions

legal dui questions

Choose a State

Penalties for DUI in Vermont

The first offense penalty for a DUI in the state of VT is an automatic license suspension for a period of 90 days. However, you may not be fined more than $750.00 or imprisoned for not more than two years. Also, after 30 days of the suspension the motorist may operate under an ignition interlock RDL.

The second offense penalties are suspension of license for 18 months, 200 hours of community service and offender shall not be fined more than $1,500 or imprisoned for longer than two years. Again under the second offense a motorist may operate under an ignition interlock RDL, however for a second offense it’s after 90 days of the 18-month suspension.

Penalties for a third or subsequent offense are more severe than the first and second offense. The penalties include permanent suspension of license, 400 hours of community service and offender shall not be fined more than $2,500 or imprisoned for more than five years. Under these penalties there is no opportunity to operate under an ignition interlock RDL because the motorist looses their license for life. Another possible penalty of third and subsequent convictions is the court may impose vehicle forfeiture. This means that the offender’s vehicle must be surrendered to the state and sold at auction.

If a death occurs as a result of the DUI then offender’s license shall automatically be suspended for a year. However, the motorist may not be fined more than $10,000 or imprisoned less than on year or more than 15 years. The offender may also be prosecuted for manslaughter and if more than one death results than the offender may be charged with a separate violation for each decedent. The motorist will not be able to operate under an ignition interlock RDL if a death is the result of the DUI.

If a serious bodily injury occurs as a result of the offense the person convicted of the violation will automatically have their licenses suspended for a year. However, they shall not be fined more than $5,000 or imprisoned more than 15 years. Also, if serious bodily injury results to more than one person the operator may be convicted of a separate violation for each person injured and they will not be able to operate under an ignition interlock RDL during the time their license is suspended.

If the motorist is under the age of 21 the penalties are different rather than a person who is of the legal drinking age. Upon the first offense the motorist’s license is suspended for a period of six months and upon a second offense it is suspended until they turn 21 or a year, which ever at the time is longer.


If you have any questions about speeding tickets, please ask them at our legal help forum. free legal questions

Ask Questions, Get Answers

free legal help forum

Contact a DUI Lawyer Today!