Welcome to Legal Help
Home West Virginia DUI Laws DUI Penalties in West Virginia

Free Help – Ask Your DUI Questions

legal dui questions

Choose a State

DUI Penalties in West Virginia

In West Virginia, the penalties are harsher for those who are convicted more than once.
First Offense

- Jail – Up to 6 Months
- Jail – from 2 days to 6 months (Blood Alcohol Level .15 or Above)
- Jail – From 2 Days to 12 Months (Minor Under 16 in Vehicle)
- Fine – From $100 to $500
- Fine – from $100 to $1,000 (Blood Alcohol Level .15 or above)
- Fine – From $200 to $1,000 (Minor under 16 in Vehicle)
- License Suspension – 15 Days
- License Suspension – 45 Days (Blood Alcohol Level .15 or Above)
- Ignition Interlock Possible
- Must successfully complete a safety and treatment program before driver license is reinstated

Second Offense

- Jail – From 6 Months to 12 Months
- Fine – From $1,000 to $3,000
- License Suspension – 1 Year
- Ignition Interlock Required
- Must successfully complete a safety and treatment program before driver license is reinstated

Third Offense

Felony Offense
- Jail – From 1 Year to 3 Years
- Fine – From $3,000 to $5,000
- License Suspension – 1 Year
- Ignition Interlock Required
- Must successfully complete a safety and treatment program before driver license is reinstated.


If you have any questions about speeding tickets, please ask them at our legal help forum. free legal questions

Ask Questions, Get Answers

free legal help forum

Contact a DUI Lawyer Today!