Welcome to Legal Help
Home Wyoming DUI Laws DUI Penalties in Wyoming

Free Help – Ask Your DUI Questions

legal dui questions

Choose a State

DUI Penalties in Wyoming

First DUI conviction: The first DUI conviction in Wyoming is a misdemeanor. You will face a fine of up to $750, up to six months in jail, a ninety day driver’s license suspension and you will be required to install an interlock ignition device for six months if you were arrested with a BAC of 0.15% or greater. Further, a substance abuse assessment and treatment will be required; and you must have SR22 proof of financial responsibility insurance. Statute § 31-9-401 requires proof of financial responsibility for a DUI offense. An SR22
is a form that is filed by your insurance company with the Wyoming Department of Transportation. It proves that you have insurance in at least the following amounts: $25,000 for injury or death of one person, $50,000 for injury or death of two or more persons and $20,000 for damage to another person’s property. You must carry SR22 insurance for three years if convicted of a DUI.

Second DUI conviction: Your second DUI conviction within ten years is also a misdemeanor. You will face fines of $200-$750, seven days to six months in jail, your license will be suspended for one year, you will be required to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle for one year, a substance abuse assessment and treatment will be required and you will be required to have SR22 proof of financial responsibility insurance.

Third DUI Conviction: Your third DUI offense within ten years is a misdemeanor as well. You will face fines of $750 to $3,000, thirty days to six months in jail, your license will be suspended for three years, you will be required to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle for two years, a substance abuse assessment will be made with treatment as required and you must have SR22 proof of financial responsibility insurance.

Fourth and subsequent DUI convictions: Your fourth or subsequent DUI conviction is a felony. You will face fines of up to $10,000, jail for up to two years, your license will be suspended indefinitely and you will be required to install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle for life. You can appeal for removal of the interlock device every five years, however, it is up to the courts discretion whether or not to remove the requirement. You will again be required to have a substance abuse assessment and treatment as required and you must have SR22 proof of financial responsibility insurance.


If you have any questions about speeding tickets, please ask them at our legal help forum. free legal questions

Ask Questions, Get Answers

free legal help forum

Contact a DUI Lawyer Today!